GFA Presidency: George Afriyie concedes defeat to Kurt Okraku

Making Kurt the successor of Kwesi Nyantakyi

Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku has been voted to become the new president of Ghana Football for the next four years.

The elections which was held at the College of Physicians and Surgeons Centre, Accra was highly competitive, especially between George Afryie and eventual winner Kurt Okraku.

At the end of the first round of voting, Mr. Okraku had 44 votes, with George Afriyie and Nana Yaw Amponsah getting 40 and 27 votes respectively.

Per the statutes of the GFA, a winner could only be declared with 50% plus one vote(60 votes). With none of the candidates reaching that height after the first round, it became necessary for a second round of polls to be held.

The second round of voting took place with the view of getting one and clear winner. Unfortunately, that wasn’t achieved as Kurt Okraku came very close with 59 votes, one vote short off the required votes needed to crown a new president. George Afriyie came second with 43 votes and Nana Yaw Amponsah with just 16 votes.

Per the normal legal process, there was still no clear winner as none of the aspirants could attain the 50% plus one vote. A third round of voting was needed. However, George Afriyie after confrontation from his campaign team and as a football person who is a ‘unifier’, he conceded defeat in good faith to pave way for Kurt Okraku.
A third round of unanimous voting was nonetheless still needed to ensure Kurt Okraku legally gets the 50% plus one vote to authorize his status as the new president of the Ghana Football Association.

Mr. Kurt Okraku has eventually and officially been declared the winner and new president of the GFA after the third round of poll with 83 votes from 119 delegates.

Congratulations Kurt!


What do you think?

1164 points
Upvote Downvote


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





GFA Elections: Amanda Clinton, Lawyer Ankomah Mensah out as Kurt Okraku pulls run-off lead

All the GFA presidents from 1957 to 2019